Third Person, But Not Like A Douche

I’m editing (timeline and actual story to come)…the story’s in third person. I wrote it in the winter of 2010. I have no idea what I was on…there’s no contractions, a surfeit of terms including words whose meaning I’ve since forgotten (‘catachrestic’, really?!)….

 

What the hell.

 

I’m putting this novella in my native voice. Sarcastic, somehwat clipped, lots of contractions…not my native speaking voice, because that relies on a lot of inflection (especially to hide all the ‘like’s, thank you growing up in Southern California in the ’90s), but my native writing voice. Now to make sure it stays consistent.

 

More on the process later.

Say something!

