I read Fight Club, so now I’ll talk about insomnia

Everything I wanted to say was clearer at 4.30 in the morning, so you’ll have to excuse me. Like I said, insomnia.

This isn’t the first book where I’ve seen it come up as a major topic. The other big example I can think of is ‘One Hundred Years of Solitude’, which I highly highly recommend as long as you have a little bit of patience or happen to read unnaturally fast. I know there’s a Murakami novel where it comes up but I forgot the name. Oh well.

Anyway, the fascination with the way people behave when they’re sleep-deprived is interesting. I wonder if writers suffer from insomnia more than other people; certainly it’s more prevalent in females and seems to have some sort of vague tie to the menses. (More of a tie than conception, even. Anyone else torn between amusement and horror at Arizona?)

Insomnia is perceived as a good thing, a bad thing, something that represents a paradigm shift–at least from the books I’ve read, though, more than anything else, it’s used to create a character who isn’t completely in the game. A bit out of it–altered perceptions, almost to the point of hallucination but without the prerequisite drug use or severe mental illness. I wonder if any authors are chronic insomniacs, seems like if you have it you’re less inclined to use it as a plot device. Though admittedly Philip K. Dick was comfortable with discussing the effects of drug abuse in ‘A Scanner Darkly’ (even though, quite frankly, he has no idea how the brain works)…. In the end I’m back to the starting point. Anyone can do anything. Writers have the total freedom to make shit up, readers can call them on it if they wish. Or we/they can just enjoy the ride.

I really liked ‘Fight Club’. More on that tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “I read Fight Club, so now I’ll talk about insomnia

  1. Insomnia in fiction, like many other real world maladies, is often overused to the point of comical. I havent slept for three days, thus life is the equivelant to having eaten a carton of shrooms.

    Fore me, it’s triggered by my inability to stop thinking for the hours in bed, eyes closed, wishing I could sleep. Too many plots to turn over, characters to examine, yadda yadda.

    My brother, on the other hand, can fall asleep in minutes. Anywhere. He turns himself off which I suspect begins with the brain.

    • I’m incredibly jealous of your brother (and, actually, my sister) right now.

      I swear the best ideas happen in the middle of the night. Aargh.

Say something!

