in which I try to write a whole book in 10 days

70k words, because HARPER IS TAKING OPEN SUBS YOU GUYS

Yesterday I got in 7100. We’ll see how this goes.

Today I am up to 10,418 words.

9/14 – 19,205

9/15 – 25,586

9/16 – 32,023

9/17 – 40,046

9/18 – 45,149

9/19 – 46,235

9/20 – I drove 300 miles today. I’m using this as a thinly veiled excuse to take a (needed) break.

9/21-22 – break extended! Planning time. If I’m not using my time efficiently, I’m going to figure out why. In this case it was having a gap in the story.

9/23 – 51,513

9/24 – 55,605

9/25 – 60,487

9/26 – 61,502

9/27 – 64,044

9/28 – 70,004. That’s a wrap.

11 thoughts on “in which I try to write a whole book in 10 days

  1. You wrote 7,100 words in one day? My. GOD. Did you plan everything out before you started? You’re going to wipe NaNoWriMo all over the floor, forget 50k in a month! That’s astronomically impressive. I mean, conceding that perhaps the quality might suffer for the quantity, that’s still astounding. I’d love to hear about your process. Well done, and good luck!

    • I did!

      This is a story idea I’ve had festering for at least…I’d say…two years now? I had started writing the beginning last year but scrapped it. The rest of the planning is in my head, but the first thing I do when I have an idea I like is figure out what the plot is. And you can’t have a plot without characters, so that was all there, too.

      Processwise, the 7100 might have been a bit of a fluke. I know my average when writing new fiction is about 2000 words an hour, so obviously I have a lot of free time right now, for one 😀 (thank you, recently leaving work). I wrote all the scenes I’d thought out in particular, which boils down to the beginning and end, basically…. There are a lot of ‘filler’ words in this as well because it’s first person from a high school freshman’s perspective, so there’s some padding there. I don’t usually write an ending out, but I happened to like the way this finished, so I got overexcited and all that.

      Aside from that, I have a lot of incentive to finish up fast! One, it’s a story I want to tell enough where it stayed in my head for a long time without any salient points changing. Two…omfg open submissions.

      Hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions. I’ll post something about the process once I’m not just doing this, too.

      Thank you!

  2. You’re a beast! I’m kind of jealous that you have so much free time to write. 😀

    I decided this morning that I’m submitting, too, so I’m in the process of dusting off an old novel that is 90% done and in pieces spread across like a dozen documents. Fun. I’m at 60-70,000 words (20,000 of which is probably going to get cut, so I think I need to write a lot more).

    I saw something in the guidelines about them looking for manuscripts 80,000-100,000, though they first say that they’re looking for novels 70,000 and over. I’m wondering if we should go with 80K, just to be safe. What do you think?

    • Don’t be :O

      Oooh, awesome!

      I think it really depends on the needs of the book, and then the genre (YA tends to go under 80k from everything I’ve heard, if I’m wrong I will update this). If you’re dumping in filler scenes and stuff that undermine the quality of the work, that’s a lot worse than being a riskier, shorter piece.

      • Aw! Own your beastliness! ❤

        Agreed. I'm probably going to end up being way short (if I even get everything done in time; this is really bad timing, naturally).

        No word count update today. I hope you're recovered from your drive!

      • Woooo bad timing!

        I did, thanks! But I realized that a few days off to plan out details would make things a lot more efficient, so that’s what I did. Probably kills the ten day goal, but I’d rather get it done right.

      • I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. Sometimes planning can help cut out extra steps that might impede making the deadline. Just don’t get obsessive like someone of us do. 😉

      • Exactly!

        I have no attention span, which makes planning a relatively short process. I don’t want to do it a second longer than I have to, especially not when I should be writing.

  3. Pingback: 70,004 words in 15 days. « write lies: more entertaining than white lies

Say something!

