The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

I got tagged by the pretty fantabulous E. Kristin Anderson, who runs the Dear Teen Me project (in print through Zest). We’ve collaborated in the past and she’s pretty boss, both in the YA sphere and generally. Goodtimes, go there instead.

of course this gif is relevant. I’ve no idea what you’re talking about.

Anyway, questions!

1. What is the working title of your book(s)?

COME ON EILEEN – with EK Anderson (between drafts)

DARK MATTER – remember that time I was all ‘hey you guys 70,000 words in 15 days and don’t do that’? That’s that one. Current status is either ‘having the kinks of a sweet deal worked out in the Harper Voyager backroom’ or ‘I really need to get rewriting this so it’s YA sci-fi like I intended and not way more MG’…let’s face it, I should be doing the latter anyway.

TERMINAL VELOCITY – that mess that is probably the reason some of y’all have me on your blogroll in the first place. All I really have to say about it right now is bbbllllllbbbbbllbbbbbb.

2. Ideas?

Oh man this is awkward. So COME ON EILEEN was all the cogitations of EKA (and now that I think about it I wrote something that was also rejected from Machine of Death – where did it go…). But in general I’ll just wake up or get out of the shower being like I SHOULD WRITE THIS STORY and, because this happens to me a lot, I sit on the idea for 24 hours until it’s a little more coherent than WOO ONE GOOD SENTENCE. Then I write it.

If this process got any less magical there would be poo involved.

The final episode of ’30 Rock’ has ‘blerg’ on the list of forbidden words, if you missed that. 😀

3. What genre do your books come under?

Vaguely sciencey? Okay for real I’m all about literary sci-fi. I’d write commercial if I could, but I keep getting excited about themes. (This is a load of crap. I like character development a lot more than I’ll admit to.)

4. Actors?

Could we tap Jensen Ackles for all the dude roles and Tina Fey for all the lady roles? I think this would be totally acceptable.

5. One-sentence synopses?

Thank you EKA for already writing the COME ON EILEEN one. Although I did switch one word.

In COME ON EILEEN, Eileen Archer has just found out she’s destined to die the next time she hears her favorite song, so color her surprised when nerdy Rahul shows up out of nowhere — literally — to turn her world on her head; meanwhile, if Rahul can’t figure out how to get back to the future, both he and Eileen are doomed to live (or die) in the 80s forever…or at least until the 90s, or whatever.

When Infinity Jones is tapped to go save the universe (standard business around some parts), her brother tags along; DARK MATTER is the story of Jeremy Jones trying to wiggle his way out of his sister’s shadow and maybe even have some of his own adventures.

TERMINAL VELOCITY is bbbllllllbbbbbllbbbbbb (note: I’m exaggerating. I cleaned it up enough to drop it into the 2013 ABNA, UPDATED–I’m not in the running, baww okay moving on).

6. Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

Non. Aww.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Depends which one. On average, a month-ish.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Oh ho ho I would rather just be like ‘who do I want to be’ and the answer is somewhere between Philip Pullman and JK Rowling with a little bit of Pratchett and Heller thrown in for good measure. Which isn’t even vaguely within the genre, but I didn’t answer the original question anyway, SO THERE.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I used to tutor kids on the South Side and I once read ‘Catch-22’ like fifteen times over a spring break and all the nerds I’ve ever known, &c &c &c. Life. The Universe. Everything. I try to make sure everything I do permeates my skull for future reference.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

VOICE. I gots it.

If you want to do this, you’re welcome to tag yourselves. 😀

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

Say something!

