You don’t have to be miserable to be a writer

…but some degree of creative discontent helps.

Right around the time I vanished off the face of this account I switched jobs, and aside from no longer having the time during work to hammer out entire short fiction pieces, I went home every night and found I simply didn’t give a shit. Between martial arts and finally getting to do creative things at work (and, alright, drawing on the side), I was happy. It’s telling that a month away from martial arts is the first time I’ve completed anything new since last year.

In truth, I don’t see a real responsibility to produce content – no one is asking me to, and a million others post every day, many of whom are better than me – so it’s not a big deal. I’m an adult and after a full day of work, I feel pretty damn entitled.

That said, I do post all the time on Goodreads, always happy to friend new people if you do want to stay in touch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by PD. Bookmark the permalink.

Say something!

